UK General Election 2015 - Leading Political Commentators - Photo via The Spectator
TAGGED UNDER: Government & Politics

Introducing the UK's leading political commentators

Raleigh Addington
Raleigh Addington
editor at Chartwell Speakers

British politics has rarely been so unpredictable. As the opinion polls continue to put the Conservatives and Labour neck and neck – alongside growing support for the anti-EU UK Independence Party (UKIP) – political uncertainty and the weakening eurozone economy is hitting confidence across the board.

The 2015 General Election will set this country’s course over the size of the state, the treatment of the poor and the foreign, and about controlling the deficit. Even more importantly, it will pass a verdict about the unity of the UK itself, and the relationship with the nations of Europe.

The result of May 7th is famously hard to call, with Westminster’s mainstream parties under attack from the margins. Will UKIP deny David Cameron a second term in Downing Street? Will the SNP quash Ed Miliband’s hopes? Will the Greens obliterate the LibDems? And what will the result mean for the future of the United Kingdom, and our fraught relationship with the European Union?

Here are some of the UK’s leading political commentators:

Alastair Campbell speaker
Alastair Campbell: Former spin doctor & No. 10 strategist.
Danny Finkelstein speaker
Daniel Finkelstein: Executive Editor of The Times.
Janan Ganesh speaker
Janan Ganesh: Political columnist for the Financial Times.
Gerard Lyons speaker
Gerard Lyons: Chief Economic Adviser to Boris Johnson.
Bronwen Maddox speaker
Bronwen Maddox: Editor & Chief Executive of Prospect magazine.
Emily Maitlis speaker
Emily Maitlis: BBC Newsnight’s political editor & news presenter.
Andrew Neil speaker
Andrew Neil: Veteran BBC broadcaster & presenter of “The Daily Politics”.
Ben Page speaker
Ben Page: Influential pollster specialising in UK/EU politics.
Michael Portillo speaker
Michael Portillo: The “best leader the Conservative Party never had.”
Mary Ann Sieghart
Mary Ann Sieghart: 30 years’ experience reporting on the UK political scene.

















































To book these speakers for your event, or for more ideas on UK political commentators, please get in touch with Leo von Bülow-Quirk at or call on +44 (0) 20 7792 8000.




View our related Speakers

Alastair Campbell Speaker
Alastair Campbell
Tony Blair’s Director of Comms & Strategy
Danny Finkelstein Speaker
Danny Finkelstein
Executive Editor, The Times
Janan Ganesh Speaker
Janan Ganesh
Leading Commentator on Politics in the US and the UK
Gerard Lyons Speaker
Gerard Lyons
Chief Economic Advisor to Boris Johnson
Bronwen Maddox Speaker
Bronwen Maddox
Director of the Institute for Government
Emily Maitlis Speaker
Emily Maitlis
Award winning Author and Journalist
Andrew Neil Speaker
Andrew Neil
Broadcaster & political commentator
Michael Portillo Speaker
Michael Portillo
Political commentator & former Defence Secretary
Ben Page Speaker
Ben Page
Marketing Researcher & Pollster
Mary Seighart
Mary Ann Sieghart Speaker
Mary Ann Sieghart
Highly Regarded Current Affairs Commentator and author of award-winning book, The Authority Gap